breaking news

Henry County high school evacuated after bomb threat

Democrats re-elected to Fulton County Commission

John Eaves

John Eaves

Two incumbent Fulton County commissioners won re-election Tuesday, ensuring Democrats will maintain their decades-long control of county government.

With all 366 precincts reporting, Chairman John Eaves defeated Republican Earl Cooper by a margin of 63 percent to 37 percent. In the race for south Fulton District 6, incumbent Emma Darnell won more than 91 percent of the vote in defeating Republican Abraham Watson. The other five commission races were uncontested.

The results mean Democrats will hold four of seven seats on the County Commission next year. Republicans will pick up a third seat, ensuring the party and north Fulton residents will have a greater say in county affairs.